Lactation Consulting Services

Date Issued: 2/3/2014

EmblemHealth has adopted the policy guidance from the New York State Medicaid program to ensure appropriate designation of participating practitioners as breast feeding, education and lactation counselors. Physicians, nurse practitioners, midwives, physician assistants and registered nurses seeking this credential must have the following minimum requirements, as defined in the EmblemHealth Credentialing Policy:

  • Current and valid medical license
  • Current and valid DEA certificate (as applicable)
  • Current malpractice coverage within acceptable limits
  • Hospital privileges in good standing with a plan-contracted facility
  • Acceptable work history
  • Acceptable malpractice history
  • Acceptable adverse action history

In addition to these minimum credentialing requirements, applicants must also be International Board Certified Lactation Consultants (IBCLCs) credentialed by the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE).

Policy & Alerts